My American Dream

How I felt the day I left my homeland

I write this blog post in english, this is because people from here but also from my homeland keep asking me how it was to get in that airplane knowing that I wouldn't come back for 10 months.

It was 210 days ago, a nice summer day and I was ready to leave the house at 3 in the morning.

People kept asking me "Are you scared? Are you excited? Won't you miss home?" so now I decided to tell you more about the day when my life changed forever.

I arrived at the airport and I captured the moment with my parents, brother and close friends. I checked-in before having breakfast because I was anxious and did not want to be late. As a result, I had everything done earlier then I expected. I tried to talk about anything but my departure with everybody. I talked about the parties that were going on in the city and other small things, since I did not want to make them sad. After hugging them for the last time in 2015, I walked towards the gate and turned left. I went up some stairs and I could see them all one last time, it was hard to see them crying but it was worth it. The last thing they saw was my back.

There, my mind started to travel. I looked around me with a big smile, I was 16 years old and traveling out of the country by myself. I was ready to show who I really was. In my home town I felt like things were holding me back but from that day on, the situation changed.

I landed in London and I saw thousands of people walking left and right, either hurrying or taking their time in coffee shops. In the meanwhile I kept thinking "What and who is waiting for me on the other side of the world? What if..?" I really asked myself tons of questions. But then I did quit because I wanted to enjoy every second of my exchange, and the journey was part of it. I did not want to have expectations. I tried to text my friends and family to let them know that I was okay, and then used the restroom. I remember using it because I had to run to the gate, which was on the other side of the terminal, obviously, and thought I was gonna be late.

People told me to sleep on the plane, to watch movies or listen to music. I tried to sleep but I couldn't, I tried to watch a movie but I couldn't focus. I was too excited to land in the USA for the second time, and not for a vacation this time but because I was moving there, that even if I was tired I could not close my eyes. I repeatedly listened to the same song hundreds of times on board, it still reminds me of the hours I spend in that plain.

Even the clouds looked different through my eyes, I landed and met my american family. On my way home I kept looking outside the window while my american parents were talking to me.. I remember that day like it was yesterday. And I wouldn't change it for a thing! I can honestly say that going on an exchange year was one of the best deaicions I ever made.

Reacties

Reacties

Marjet

Cool story ;-)

Marjet

Like a fairytale

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!